Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, April 30, 2017 at 4:00 p.m.

Junghwa Lee, piano
Junghwa Lee, piano
(Click on name for Bio)

Préludes, Book II   (1912-1913)

Claude Debussy
1.    Brouillards        Mists
2.    Feuilles mortes        Dead leaves
3.    La Puerta del Vino        Gateway to the Alhambra
4.    Les fées sont d'exquises danseuses        Fairies are exquisite dancers
5.    Bruyères        Moors
6.    General Lavine, eccentric        A celebrated American juggler
7.    La terrasse des audiences du clair de lune        The terrace of moonlight audiences
8.    Ondine        The water fairy
9.    Hommage à Samuel Pickwick, Esq., P.P.M.P.C.
10.    Canope        Egyptian burial urn, also the water god
11.    Tièrces alternées        Alternating thirds
12.    Feux d'artifice        Fireworks


Iberia     (1907-1908)
Isaac Albéniz
Book III
    El Albaicín (Bb minor and Bb major)
    El Polo (F minor)
    Lavapiés (Db major) after the district of Madrid
Book IV
    Málaga (Bb minor and Bb major)
    Jerez   (A minor or arguably E Phrygian and E major)
    Eritaña (Eb major)

Piano by Erard, Paris, 1877.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $10.00 /adult (children and students, free)

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send email to .

For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here.

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the .