Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, June 3, 2018 at 4:00 p.m.

Thomas Pandolfi, piano    Thomas Pandolfi, piano

Music by Polish Pianist-Composers

from Toccata and Fugue in d, BWV 565
(Originally written for organ, attributed to J.S. Bach,
now often ascribed to Johann Peter Kellner (1705-1772) although not without dispute.)
Johann Sebastian Bach
transcribed by
Carl Tausig
Miscellanea, Op. 16

Ignace Jan Paderewski
4. Nocturne in Bb   (ca.1890-91)      Andantino con moto
Humoresques de concert, Op. 14   (1887-88)
1. Menuet célèbre in G      Allegretto
Fantaisie-Impromptu in c#, Op. posth. 66 (1834)

Frédéric Chopin
Three études    Chopin
in c, Op. 10, No. 12   (1829-32),  “Révolutionaire    Allegro con fuoco
in Ab, Op. 25, No. 1   (1832-36),  “la Harpe Æolienne    Allegro sostenuto
in c, Op. 25, No. 12,  “l’Océan”    Molto allegro, con fuoco
Cantabile in Bb, B.84   (1834)    [Andantino]    
Contredanse in Gb, B.17   (1827-29?)    [Allegretto]
Polonaise in Ab, Op. 53   (1842)  “l’Héroique”    Maestoso


from Sonata No. 2 in A minor, for organ and trumpet, BWV 1003   (1720)
arranged and published as Andante in C, for piano   (1924)

                       3. Aria
Johann Sebastian Bach
arr. Leopold Godowsky
Four variations on a theme by Paganini
Wiktor Labunski
Polish dance in eb, Op. 3, No. 1 (ca. 1869)   Con fuoco

Franz Xaver Scharwenka
Triakontameron (1919-20)    
                       11. Alt Wien ("Where Yesterdays look backwards with a Smile through Tears")   Andante lusingando
Leopold Godowsky
from Gounod's Faust (1860), arrangements of extracts for solo piano by Godowsky: Faust Suite No. 1 (1915), subsequently arranged by Thomas Pandolfi  

Charles Gounod
Leopold Godowsky
arr. Thomas Pandolfi

Piano by Érard, Paris, 1877

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $15.00 /adult (children and students, $5.00).

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send email to .
For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here.

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the .