Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage

Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, October 28 , 2018 at 4:00 p.m.

Yuan Sheng, piano    Yuan Sheng, piano

Arabesque in C, Op. 18 (1839)
Robert Schumann
Leicht und zart – Etwas langsamer – Tempo primo – Etwas langsamer – Langsam
Light and tender - Slightly slower - First Tempo - Slightly slower - Slow
Symphonische Etuden in Form von Variationen, Op. 13   (Symphonic Etudes in the form of Variations)   Op.13   (Original version: 1834; final revision: 1852; the restoration by Brahms of five variations, previously omitted: 1890)

Tema (Theme) Andante
1. var. 1  Un poco più vivo
2. var. 2  Andante
3. Vivace
4. var. 3  Allegro marcato
5. var. 4  Scherzando
6. var. 5  Agitato
7. var. 6  Allegro molto
8.  var. 7  Sempre marcatissimo
9.  Presto possibile
10. var. 8  Allegro con energia
11. var. 9  Andante espressivo
12. Finale  Allegro brillante
Variations not included in Schumann's "final" revision in 1852 but reintroduced to the piece after his death in 1856 (first by Ferdinand Wieck in 1861, then by Clara Wieck Schumann and Johannes Brahms in 1873, and finally by Brahms in 1890) are now referred to as "posthumous" variations. The placement of the five to be heard in this performance will be announced by the pianist.
Posthumous variation I   Andante, tempo del tema
Posthumous variation II   Meno mosso
Posthumous variation III   Allegro
Posthumous variation IV   Allegretto
Posthumous variation V   Moderato


Carnaval   (Carnival)   Op.9   (1833-35)


1. Préambule   (Preamble)   in Ab major
2. Pierrot   (Pierrot)   in Eb major
3. Arlequin   (Harlequin)   in Bb major
4. Valse noble   (Noble Waltz)   in Bb major
5. Eusebius   (Eusebius)   in Eb major
6. Florestan   (Florestan)   in G minor
7. Coquette   (Coquette)   in Bb major
8. Réplique   (Replica)   in Bb major
9. Papillons   (Butterflies)   in Bb major
10. Lettres dansantes   (Dancing Letters)   in Eb major
11. Chiarina   (Chiarina)   in C minor
12. Chopin   (Chopin)   in Ab major
13. Estrella   (Estrella)   in F minor
14. Reconnaissance   (Recognition)   in Ab major
15. Pantalon et Colombine   (Pantalon et Colombine)   in F minor
16. Valse allemande   (German Waltz)   in Ab major
17. Paganini   (Paganini)   in F minor-Ab major
18. Aveu   (Confession)   in Db major
19. Promenade   (Promenade)   in Ab major
20. Pause   (Pause)   in Ab major  -  21. Marche des Davidsbündler contre les Philistins   (The League of David's March against the Philistines)   in Ab major

Piano by J.B. Streicher, Vienna, 1846.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $15.00 /adult (children and students are still welcome without charge).

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send email to .
For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here.

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the .