Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage


Historical Piano Concerts Series
at the
Ashburnham Community Church

Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.

Daniel Kurganov, violin   Constantine Finehouse, piano Daniel Kurganov, violin
Constantine Finehouse, piano

Sonata in A for violin & piano,   FWV 8   (1886)

César Franck
1. Allegretto ben moderato
2. Allegro
3. Recitativo-Fantasia  Ben moderato
4. Allegretto poco mosso
Ballade No. 4 in f,   Op. 52    (1842-43)     Andante con motoFrédéric Chopin
Poème, Op. 25    (1896)     (originally for violin & orchestra)
     Lento e misterioso – Molto animato – Animato – Poco lento – Tranquillo
Ernest Chausson


Trois mélodies, Op. 7     (1878)

Gabriel Fauré
1. Après un rêveAndantino, dolce    (after an anonymous 19th-c. Italian love poem)
Beau Soir     (1877-78)     Andante, ma non troppo
(after a poem by Paul Bourget (1852-1935) and later arranged by Jascha Heifetz.
Claude Debussy

Piano by Érard, Paris, 1877.
Daniel Kurganov's violin by Andrew Ryan, Boston, 2013, based on a Guarneri del Gesu pattern of 1737.

All pianos played in the concerts are from The Frederick Collection

Ashburnham Community Church: 84 Main Street (Rte. 12) at Chapel Street, Ashburnham, MA (GPS: 42.6359, -71.9083)

Admission: $15.00 /adult (children and students are still welcome without charge).

The building is wheelchair accessible.

For further information on the Historical Piano Concert Series, The Historical Piano Study Center, or any other item on this page please send email to .
For complete contact information and how you can help support the Historical Piano Concert Series and/or The Historical Piano Study Center, please click here.

Questions or comments about this web site should be sent to the .