Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage

Historical Piano Concerts Series
About the Musicians

Kate Haynes

Kate Haynes, violoncello

Kate Haynes studied modern cello with Laurence Lesser at the New England Conservatory and baroque cello with Jaap ter Linden at the Royal Dutch Conservatory in the Hague, after completing a bachelor’s degree in Scandinavian studies at Harvard College.
She has appeared at festivals throughout North America and Europe with baroque ensembles such as Arion, Tafelmusik, B’Rock, Apollo’s Fire, Aradia, Clarion, Masques, and the Theatre of Early Music, and her continuo playing can be heard on the ATMA, and Deutsche Grammophon labels.

In 2011, Kate began a six-year cycle of the complete Bach cello suites for the Toronto Music Garden concert series. 2013 will see the inclusion of a newly commissioned work by Christopher Hossfeld as a companion piece to the 3rd Suite.
As well as being an active baroque cellist, Kate has a special passion for classical and romantic performance practice, which she has explored as both recitalist and chamber musician. She is currently pursuing a PhD in 19th-century performance practice under Clive Brown at the University of Leeds.

If you visit her web site you can, among other things, both watch and listen to her work.