Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage

Historical Piano Concerts Series
About the Musicians

Misuzu Tanaka

Misuzu Tanaka, piano

As an avid performer of the music of J.S. Bach and Leoš Janáček, Misuzu Tanaka has established herself as an artist of remarkable individuality with a rare combination of poetic sensitivity and breathtaking virtuosity. Recently hailed by critics as a pianist "…who dispatched everything with both dizzying speed and sensitivity", she is the winner of many prestigious competitions including First Prize at the Poland Music Festival Competition and Second prize at the Joan and Daniel Rutenberg Chamber Music Competition.

Ms. Tanaka has presented highly acclaimed recitals at the Gewandhaus (Leipzig, Germany), Villa Bertramka (Prague, Czech Republic) and Mest’anská Beseda (Pilsen, Czech Republic), and was invited as a special guest artist to perform for former U.S. Secretary of State, Condoleezza Rice. Recently, as a soloist and pianist of the Shtrykov-Tanaka Duo with clarinetist, Maksim Shtrykov, she has appeared on concert series such as the Endless Mountain Music Festival (Elmira, NY), Kamerman Piano Series at Pensacola State College (Pensacola, FL), and Summer Stars Classical Series (Ocean Grove, NJ).
An advocate of modern music, she has collaborated with many prominent living composers and given the World Premieres of works by Paul Moravec (Pulitzer Prize Winner), Alberto E. Colla, and Ivan Božičević. As an avid chamber musician, Ms. Tanaka has also collaborated with prominent artists including James Dunham (Cleveland Quartet) and members of the National Symphony Orchestra.

Ms. Tanaka studied at the Juilliard School with Martin Canin and with Ivan Moravec, and Miroslav Brejcha in the Czech Republic. She holds Masters in Music and Doctor of Musical Arts degrees from the University of Michigan where she was a full scholarship recipient studying with Dr. Logan Skelton.

This is Misuzu Tanaka’s second Historical Piano Concerts appearance. A video of her performance last year with clarinetist Maksim Shtrykov playing the Rondo allegro from Weber’s Grand Duo Concertant with our 1871 Streicher piano has been posted on YouTube.

Please visit her web site to keep up with her extensive performance schedule.