Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage

Historical Piano Concerts Series
About the Musicians

Yi-heng Yang

Yi-heng Yang, piano

Noted by The New York Times for “astonishing skill and vividness”, pianist Yi-heng Yang maintains a diverse range of musical activities, from performing on historical period pianos to premiering works by living composers.

Recent recitals include performances at the Boston Early Music Festival, the Finchcocks Collection (Kent, UK), the Cobbe Collection (Surrey, UK), Sirakawa Gallery in Japan, the Bach Vespers Series, the Metropolitan Museum of Art (NY), and in The Netherlands at the Utrecht Early Music Festival Fringe and at the Geelvinck Museum in Amsterdam.

Ms. Yang was awarded first prize at the first Square Piano Competition during the “Amsterdam Virtuosi” Festival 2011. She was also winner of The Juilliard School’s Mozart Piano Concerto Competition and the Haddonfield Symphony Concerto Competition, has been soloist with The New Juilliard Ensemble, the York Symphony Orchestra of Toronto, and The Juilliard Orchestra, in such venues as Lincoln Center, Avery Fisher and Alice Tully Halls.

An active chamber musician, Yi-heng plays in Gretchen's Muse, the Davidsbund Piano Trio, and The Sebastian Chamber Players. She is a regular faculty member at the Apple Hill Center for Chamber Music in New Hampshire.

Yi-heng holds a doctorate in piano performance at The Juilliard School, where she studied with Robert McDonald, and earned a Masters degree summa cum laude in fortepiano at the Amsterdam Conservatory, under the tutelage of Stanley Hoogland.

Yi-heng was a recipient of the Harvey Fellowship (Mustard Seed Foundation), and the Huygens Grant (NUFFIC) by the Dutch Minister of Culture. She lives in New York City with her husband and son. This is her fifth performance on our concert series.

Please take the opportunity to visit her web site at