Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage

Historical Piano Concerts Series
About the Musicians

Yi-heng Yang

 Yi-heng Yang, piano

Yi-heng Yang has appeared as a performer on historical and modern instruments at The Boston Early Music Festival, The Metropolitan Museum of Art (NYC), Friends of Mozart (NYC), MusicIC (Iowa City), The Midtown Series at St. Bart's (NYC), Music Matters (Connecticut), Serenata of Santa Fe, Sunday Chatter (Albuquerque), Apple Hill Chamber Music Festival (NH), The Cobbe Collection (UK), The Finchcocks Collection (UK) and The Frederick Collection (MA). 

A dynamic collaborator, she works with such groups as The Sebastians, Gretchen's Muse, and Trio Pasqualati.  

This September 2015, she will be directing a chamber music festival here at the Frederick Collection.  

Upcoming recordings include the complete Mendelssohn Violin Sonatas on period instruments, with Abigail Karr. 

Yi-heng earned a Masters of Fortepiano degree summa cum laude from the Amsterdam Conservatory, where she studied with Stanley Hoogland. She holds a doctorate in piano performance from The Juilliard School, where her teachers were Veda Kaplinsky, Julian Martin, and Robert McDonald. Her dissertation is entitled "Performing Schumann: Clues from The Clara Schumann School and Period Instruments." 

Yi-heng lives with her husband and young son in New York City. You can visit her website at .

We are pleased to welcome Yi-heng to her fifth performance on our Historical Piano Concerts series.