Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage

Historical Piano Concerts Series
About the Musicians

Yi-heng Yang

 Yi-heng Yang, piano

In recent seasons, pianist and fortepiano specialist Yi-heng Yang has appeared at The Boston Early Music Festival, The Finger Lakes Chamber Music Festival, The Metropolitan Museum of Art (NYC), Friends of Mozart (NYC), MusicIC (Iowa City), The Midtown Series at St. Bart's (NYC), Music Matters (Connecticut), Serenata of Santa Fe, Sunday Chatter (Albuquerque), Apple Hill Chamber Music Festival (NH), The Cobbe Collection (UK), The Finchcocks Collection (UK) and The Frederick Collection (MA). 

A dynamic collaborator, she works with such groups as The Sebastians, Gretchen's Muse, and Trio Pasqualati. 

Upcoming recordings include the complete Mendelssohn Violin Sonatas on period instruments, with Abigail Karr. 

Yi-heng holds a doctorate in piano performance from The Juilliard School, where her teachers were Veda Kaplinsky, Julian Martin, and Robert McDonald. She studied fortepiano there with Audrey Axinn and also earned a  Masters of fortepiano summa cum laude from the Amsterdam Conservatory, where she worked with Stanley Hoogland.

Yi-heng  lives with her husband and son in New York City, and is on the piano faculty of The Juilliard School's Evening Division and the Apple Hill Center for Chamber Music in Nelson, NH.

This concert marks Yi-Heng's eighth appearance in the Historical Piano Concerts series.

You can follow Yi-Heng Yang's professional activies on Facebook and on her web site .