Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage

Historical Piano Concerts Series
About the Musicians

Abigail Karr

 Abigail Karr, violin

Violinist Abigail Karr lives and works in New York City. The Boston native received her Bachelor and Master of Music degrees from the Rice University Shepherd School of Music, studying violin with the late Sergiu Luca.

She appears with many ensembles on modern and historical violin, including Boston’s Handel & Haydn Society (as occasional principal player and soloist) and the Trinity Baroque Orchestra of Manhattan. An active chamber musician, noted for the “focused direction” she brings to performances, she is the founder and director of Gretchen’s Muse, a chamber ensemble dedicated to bringing the music of the 18th century to life through exciting, historically-informed performances; the group was recently praised for its “near-telepathic synchronicity” and the “palpable collective chemistry between such individually accomplished bow-wielders.” She was also a founding member of the Rosetta String Trio, which, in addition to its commitment to historical performance, commissioned and premiered three new works for string trio.

After their performance of Mendelssohn’s complete sonatas for violin and piano on the Historical Piano Concerts series, she and keyboardist Yi-heng Yang are slated to repeat the program at the La Grua Center in Stonington, CT. The duo will also record and perform these works at the renowned Concert Hall at Drew University in Madison, NJ, with Grammy Award-winning producer and engineer Jesse Lewis.

Abigail’s solo and chamber music performances have drawn praise from such publications as Toronto NOW magazine, the New York Times and the Boston Musical Intelligencer. She recently completed studies in historical performance at The Juilliard School, and has taught Baroque violin at Rutgers University.

We welcome Abigail to her first appearance on our concert series.

There is more to be discovered at her web site, .