Return to the Frederick Collection Homepage

Historical Piano Concerts Series
About the Musicians

Sharona Joshua

Sharona Joshua ~ Historical Piano Concerts, May 15, 2011 

Israeli-born Sharona Joshua studied the piano with the late Professor Alexander Volkov and was awarded numerous scholarships during her studies at the Rubin Academy leading to a BMus degree in performance in 1995.

In 1993-4 she studied fortepiano in London with the late Christopher Kite after being awarded a further scholarship to spend a year at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

She took part in masterclasses at the Jerusalem Music Centre with fortepianists Zvi Meniker and Malcolm Bilson and returned to England in 1996 to study early keyboards with David Roblou and Richard Egarr. She also took tuition with fortepiano specialist Sally Sargent in Vienna.

Sharona now appears regularly as soloist, chamber musician and continuo player on concert platform and radio.  She has performed as soloist at major festivals all over the UK as well as abroad – Belgium, Poland, Spain, Germany, and in the USA. Sharona occasionally directs from the keyboard playing with various orchestras.  This will be her third concert on the present series.

Sharona teaches fortepiano at Birmingham Conservatoire. She has given numerous masterclasses in the UK and in the USA. Sharona has worked regularly with such groups as the New London Consort and the Musicians of the Globe. In 2001, she created her own ensemble, Concerto Cristofori, specializing in period performance. The group has performed extensively throughout the UK and abroad, and made its recital debut at the Wigmore Hall in 2005.

“Sharona’s playing demonstrated that in the hands of an excellent musician the fortepiano’s qualities can enhance the work of the greatest composers. The music was played so admirably and with such clarity and intensity as to cause even the most jaundiced concert-goer to listen with fresh ears.”
Musical Opinion (Great Britain)

“Heard on this pure-sounding instrument and from such excellent hands, it is difficult to prefer the merely pianistic versions offered today.” Hoy! (Spain)